Uncategorized

Pickled Mushrooms

 

I found a couple of packages of mushrooms on the bargain rack at the grocery store recently for about $2.50 total. One was standard white mushrooms and the other was cremini. Both batches weighed just over a pound and looked to be in perfectly good shape to me…especially if I were just going to cook them anyway. I didn’t really have a specific plan, at the time, but they were a great deal.

Free time this afternoon nudged me into the kitchen. I haven’t canned anything in awhile, since the house has been in turmoil with renovations for months (ugh), so I pulled out the pressure canner, rounded up some jars, and gathered the other supplies that I needed and set to work. I found a recipe for pickled mushrooms that looked good and wouldn’t require the pressure to can. I’m using the canner pot, but not the top.

I started the prep by washing and quartering the mushrooms.

Cleaned and prepped mushrooms

in addition to the other ingredients in the recipe, I decided to add a sprig of rosemary to each jar, because I think mushrooms and rosemary go together very well.

Flavorings.

Note: I found that a pound of mushrooms ends up being about right per pint jar. I was hoping for more, but it didn’t work out that way. Benefit from my miscalculations! Next time, I’m buying a little over 5 pounds…and I might increase the brine ingredients to accommodate them. I knew I was going to bit short on mushrooms…the recipe only called for 3 pounds…but I cut mine into fairly big chunks and thought I’d get more than two jars. Ah well.

The recipe is originally attributed to Morton Salt Company and these are the proportions that were given:

3 lbs Mushrooms, washed, stems trimmed, quartered (I recommend 5 lbs, they reduce in size substantially while simmering i the brine.)

2-1/2 cups white vinegar

1-3/4 cups water

3 tablespoons kosher or pickling salt

1/2 teaspoon whole peppercorns per pint jar

1/3 cup onion, sliced or chopped, divided between jars

1 whole garlic clove per jar

optional: 1 each 2 inch sprig rosemary per jar (my addition to original recipe)

Directions: Combine vinegar, water, and salt in a large sauce pan. Add mushrooms and bring to a boil.

Mushrooms added to boiling brine.

Reduce heat and simmer for 10-12 minutes.

Mushrooms after simmering.

Pack mushrooms into sterilized pint jars with other ingredients added to them. Leave a half inch head space and fill with hot brine to same. Remove any air bubbles and wipe rims with a clean cloth or paper towel. place prepared canning lids on the jars and screw on rings. Make sure water in canner covers the jars by 2 inches and is boiling. Process the jars for 20 minutes. Remove to a towel on a level counter for 23 hours. Check for good seal. Remove rings and store in a cool dry place.

Ready for 'shrooms

Pickling flavors in the pint jars

I’ve seen a recipe for marinated, canned mushrooms; but I decided not to go that route, because the oil can interfere with the seal. I believe it would be better to use some of the brine and make a vinaigrette  when I use the mushrooms, if I go in that direction. I also like that mushrooms these could be used in a cocktail or some other application where oil is not desired. I haven’t decided what I’ll do with them yet. I may enter one on the NC State Fair. I don’t have anything else yet, for competition. Either way, they should pickle for at least a couple weeks, so I’ll figure it out later.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

