Uncategorized

Yellow Squash Banana Bread

Mmm...warm Yellow Squash Banana Bread!

Mmm…warm Yellow Squash Banana Bread!

I’m making a version of this recipe that I found at :http://www.cooks.com/recipe/5s7g16m9/squash-banana-nut-bread.html   I always like to give credit to my sources and recommend them.

The recipe is as follows:

>>>SQUASH BANANA NUT BREAD

from COOKS.COM

1/2 c. butter, softened

1 c. granulated sugar

1/2 c. brown sugar

2 eggs, beaten

1/2 tsp. vanilla

2 med. bananas, mashed

1 c. grated raw squash

2 c. all­purpose flour

1/2 tsp. baking soda

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 c. chopped nuts

In a large mixing bowl cream butter with sugars. Blend in eggs and vanilla, then bananas and grated squash. In separate bowl sift together dry ingredients and beat into first mixture. Stir in nuts. Pour into greased, floured 9×5 inch loaf pan. 350 degrees 55­60 minutes.<<<

So, I made a couple of minor changes. None of us are big fans of nuts in brownies and breads, so I left them out. The recipe sounded a little bland without any spices, so I added a teaspoon of ground cinnamon and a 1/2 teaspoon of ground allspice. In addition to those minor ingredient changes, I also baked mine in 5 mini loaf pans, instead of the single large loaf. I baked them at 350F for 30 to 35 minutes, testing with a skewer for doneness. (Mine did take the extra five minutes.)

Filled the mini loaf pans about 2/3 to 3/4 full.

Filled the mini loaf pans about 2/3 to 3/4 full.

The results were delicious! They were not overpowered by the spice, but it was a good tweak. The banana flavor comes through nicely. The kids love them…and THEN I told them that there was yellow squash in them. My son was shocked, but could not deny how good they tasted! (I had one that stuck to the pan a little and got a little messed up, so it was sacrificed to sampling.) This recipe WILL be used again! Enjoy!

Standard

Leave a Reply

