Uncategorized

Pumpkin Bread

Mini Loaves, just out of the oven...oh MY!!! You want it.

Mini Loaves, just out of the oven…oh MY!!! You want it.

Every now and then, I use someone else’s recipe pretty much as is; especially when it comes to baking. The recipe below came up along with a number of others on Pinterest when I searched for “pumpkin bread best ever”. Obviously, they can’t all be, but this one turned out so yummy, that I’m going to file this one and keep using it! Thanks to “Mom’s Menu with Cindy”! (see her link below) I have copied her recipe, as is, with the exceptions that are my notes, in parentheses. Enjoy!

Pumpkin Bread

From: http://www.momsmenuwithcindy.com

1 3/4 cup fresh pumpkin puree*

Wet ingredients.

Wet ingredients.

4 eggs
1/2 cup butter, softened
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1/4 cup sweetened applesauce (I’m using homemade crabapple butter)
2/3 cup water
1 cup brown sugar
2 cups white sugar
3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon**
1 teaspoon ground nutmeg**

I half-melted the butter in the microwave. Used wire whip and it looks kind of weird, but it worked.

I half-melted the butter in the microwave. Used wire whip and it looks kind of weird, but it worked.

1/2 teaspoon ground cloves**
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger **
raisins and/or walnuts, optional

*Or substitute one 15-ounce can pumpkin puree or solid pack pumpkin

**Or substitute 3 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice for these individual spices

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease and flour well three 7 x 3-inch loaf pans. (I used 7 mini loaf pans that were about 3×5 and filled them ¾ full and it worked out perfectly.) In a large bowl, mix together pumpkin puree, eggs, butter, applesauce, oil, water, white sugar and brown sugar until well blended. (I blended the wet ingredients first, then the butter that I half-melted in the microwva followed by the sugars.) In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and ginger (or the pumpkin pie spice). Stir the dry ingredients into the pumpkin mixture until just blended. Do not over mix. IMAG1653

Add chopped walnuts and or raisins, if desired. (I had a handful of pecan pieces left over from a previous recipe, so I threw them in.) Pour equally into the prepared pans.

Mini loaf pans, ready for the oven. Do not over-fill.

Mini loaf pans, ready for the oven. Do not over-fill.

Bake for about 50 minutes or until done. Loaves are done when toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. (Since I used the mini loaf pans, I checked mine at 40 minutes. They were just right at 45 minutes.)

Good texture.

Good texture.

Slightly cooled loaf. You can only wait so long!

Slightly cooled loaf. You can only wait so long!

Update: 11/16/13     I made a double batch of Pumpkin Bread today. It produced 2 large loaves and 5 mini loaves. I had a little left over, so I sprayed inside of a coffee mug with the cooking spray that has flour in it. I could have greased and floured it, but this was easier! Anyway, I filled the mug about 2/3 full with batter and microwaved it for 2-1/2 minutes.

Poof! It's pumpkin bread microwaved  in a mug!!!

Poof! It’s pumpkin bread microwaved in a mug!!!

batter in a mug

batter in a mug

My microwave oven is a small, weak one. If you have a good and powerful microwave oven, 2 minutes will probably be sufficient. It also puffed well above the rim of the cup, so 1/2 full would have been enough, but it was very good. It doesn’t brown like it would in a regular oven, but tastes just as good!

Standard

One thought on “Pumpkin Bread

  1. Pingback: Apple Bread | Butterflies and Brownies

Leave a Reply

